Plated Desserts, Healthy Baking, and Chocolates Day 1

My summer break has been wonderful, I have to say it feels really good to be back sharing all my baking experiences with you. We hit the ground running this week and have begun creating already.

Plated Desserts- This class challenges us to use our creativity and plate desserts beautifully. They must look like something people would pay $10 or more dollars for (read: not an extra large piece of cake on a plate).

We made a deconstructed Black Forest Cake. The thin cake was a chocolate almond flavor, and the kirsh (the white thing in the middle) was made with vanilla bean seeds- it tasted like vanilla ice cream in jello form. The cherries made an appearance in the sauce, and the chocolate was for decoration.

From the side.

Healthy Baking- I have to say I am very excited for this class. As my Chef was explaining, if you make something healthy for friends and family they will probably like it and overlook the fact that it might be a little drier or just overall not as tasty, but when you are selling to the public it needs to be almost exactly like the original but better for you. We talked a lot about different ingredients and what substitutions might be nice choices.

We baked some Oat Bran Muffins, Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins, and Passion Fruit Tartlets. The first muffins were actually very good, but the second just didn’t make the cut in my opinion. I felt these were family muffins and not public ones.

The tartlets were fun to make! I would have never guessed it was a low fat product.

Up close shot of the mold

Trying out different piping designs.

Chocolates- I have this class on Thursday and Friday for half the summer. To describe this class I will simply say that chocolate is temperamental, but it has an such an intriguing quality that I love. There is so much to learn about chocolate I am definitely looking forward to this!

We began Earl Grey Truffles today. We couldn’t finish because the chocolate took a very long time to set since the kitchen was warm. I did get to practice my piping skills though.

My first attempt, which I thought slightly resembled cow patties.

Towards the end I got the hang of it a little more.

I will post the final products next week. Happy Baking!

This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Plated Desserts, Healthy Baking, and Chocolates Day 1

  1. Lace says:

    Ooooh chocolate!!!

  2. Cow patties! That’s just funny. So glad you’re back in school so I can check out all the tasty things you get to make!

    • Lisa says:

      What can you say I grew up in a small country town =) I am excited to back too. I really enjoy reading your blog as well and seeing your thoughts on different recipes.

  3. So happy to have you back, Lisa! And gosh, your classes sound amazing… I’m so jealous over here, practically drooling on my GRE practice book… Have you read any Davib Lebovitz? He has an awesome blog and talks a lot about chocolat! 🙂

    Were the tarts lemon flavored? They look so good!

    • Lisa says:

      Thank you! I did not read him, but he’s added to my google reader now! Thanks for letting me know. The tarts were called Passion Fruit Tarts they contained orange juice, lemon juice, and passion fruit juice. It tasted like a citrus melody. Very refreshing and summery.

Leave a Reply

