Plated Desserts, Healthy Baking, and Chocolates Day 1

Chocolate Cremeux with Raspberry Marshmallows, Raspberries, and Chocolate Decor.

The cremeux tasted similar to a rich chocolate pudding. Yum! I had never made homemade marshmallows before (I could have sworn it was marshmellows, shows what I know). As my Chef said, the Kraft ones you find in the store are only good to be used as a pillow at night. His best words of wisdom came later in the class though when he said in the kitchen we must be like Lady Gaga, we have to perform every time.

In healthy baking we made a reduced fat lemon poundcake which was delicious, and topped it with a port wine and fruit mixture but have no good pictures. Also, we made a passion fruit tart with a healthy crust. Below are the pictures of the tart before and after being decorated. This was pretty but the crust tasted exactly as I would assume dirt tastes. Unfortunately it was decorated, photographed, and promptly discarded.

These chocolate molds were so fun to learn about. We prepped the bottom and sides of the mold, piped a caramel/white chocolate/passion fruit ganache, and then covered in more chocolate.  I have to say I am proud of the way these turned out. It makes me feel like a professional.

Until next week, Happy Baking!

This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Plated Desserts, Healthy Baking, and Chocolates Day 1

  1. Your tart looks BEAUTIFUL!!!

  2. That port wine and fruit mix sounds amazing. Of course it all looks good.

    • Lisa says:

      Yes we used IQF strawberries, blueberries, and cranberries with a dash of port wine. I’m not a berry fan, but this looked and smelled wonderful!

  3. drtara05 says:

    Lisa–so pleased to know about your blog!! I have some friends and sisters that will enjoy following this great journey you are on!

    • Lisa says:

      I am very glad to have you as a follower! I am loving my school so much and want to share my experiences with others and hopefully inspire them.

Leave a Reply

