Healthy Baking and End of Chocolates

Last week our chef was sick so no plated desserts, never fear though we had healthy baking and chocolates class.  Speaking of chocolates, my last class was on Friday. I was planning on taking Wedding Cakes the second half of the summer, but to make a long story short I need cake decorating first so that is postponed until next Spring. The good news is that I will graduate in May 2012 completing every baking and pastry course offered, required and optional.

Vegan, cholesterol free chocolate muffins.

Cholesterol Free Mango and Passion Fruit Ganache.

Low Fat Pumpkin Bread. We used speculoos spices as well so it was almost more like a spice bread. This one was a hit with friends/family.

Chocolate creme chiboust with a raspberry puree and chocolate decor. Basically this was a very rich chocolate mousse. I feel some mousses are too airy or too fudgey, but this one had a nice texture.

Marzipan with orange peel paste enrobed in chocolate and decorated with transfer paper.

Lavender and white chocolate truffles. These smelled great. We decorated with silver leaf and also painted on some luster dust that gave a pearly effect.

I have to say, I am proud of these Snobinettes. We began by making a chocolate mold with a flat bottom. Instead of filling with ganache and then covering completing the mold, we left it open and added more filling (Honey and Cognac ganache yum!). Then, we sliced the candied orange peels like so and added gold leaf to the tops. They were pretty and tasted lovely!

I am sad to see my chocolates class end, but I learned a lot and had so much fun. The take-a-way message is that chocolate is temperamental, but when you are done it will have been well worth the hassle. I have many more things to share so look for another post relatively soon. Until then, Happy Baking!

This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Healthy Baking and End of Chocolates

  1. LeAnne says:

    i think you should open up your own chocolate bakery. and let people order online and have them shipped 🙂 🙂 just saying… lol

    • Lisa says:

      Chocolates are my favorites. I would love to open up/work in a chocolate shop, but unfortunately, in Houston I am afraid that won’t be an option. Eventually though I would love to ship some to you!

  2. That mousse looks wonderful. I think vegan and gluten free cooking would be my least favorite to learn, but there’s such a demand and need for those, that it’d be useful. And if you can make fabulous healthier recipes, you’ll be really popular!

    • Lisa says:

      Periodically, our chef gives us topics and allows us to create and test some recipes with the healthy changes. I felt I have learned a lot by bouncing ideas around. There really is a huge demand to make specialty diet foods that taste as good as the originals. If they aren’t good you will fail, and it is as simple as that.

Leave a Reply

