Reflections on Summer

Let me start by saying I know this is late…way late, sorry.  I’ll reflect class by class.

Chocolates- Loved this! Loved chocolates so much I have seriously thought about specializing in them if we end up somewhere less hot and humid. (Nightmares we fought all summer) I learned more about tempering chocolate and how to make several truffles and molds.

Plated Desserts- I learned quickly that this class is where I can use my creativity. It is a total balance between an elegant design and overdoing or overcrowding the plate. People love nostalgic flavors, but the challenge here is to use those, but do it in an inventive modern way. I learned a lot and am glad I took this course.

Healthy Baking- I learned some tricks of the trade. For instance, adding fruit, or a fruit puree to a dessert helps reduce the total fat content. Meringue can add a lot of volume and great texture. Monkfruit is a natural sweetner, but can leave a bad aftertaste in some dishes. Overall, it is a challenge to use natural wholesome ingredients to make a dish that is just as delicious as the original, but when the perfect combo comes together it is such a good feeling.

This Fall I have begun Cake Decorating 1, Petit Fours, Cookies Pies and Tarts, and Laminated Dough. (Croissants, doughnuts, etc.) Check back soon for a couple of dinner recipes and class updates.

Until then, Happy Baking!

This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections on Summer

  1. Can’t wait to see more from your kitchen!

Leave a Reply

