Devil’s Food Cake and Croissants

In Cake Decorating we baked some Devil’s Food Cake and made a coconut pecan icing. There was a little left over so we made cupcakes with the rest. Next week, we will decorate the large cake. We have been working on our piping skills the past 2 weeks, but making a lovely design isn’t as easy as it looks. I will definitely have to practice this a lot to be skillful.

In Laminated Doughs we learned how to make Croissants.

The first step is to take butter from the freezer and beat it until it is the proper size. Our chef told us to bring all of our aggression to class and really give it to the butter. Did I mention that this class should be titled Delicious Diabetes and Clogged Arteries? =)

Next it is folded and run through a sheeter. This basically acts as a huge rolling pin that you can set to the proper thickness.

After several more folds and trips through the sheeter you end up with this. You can see the butter is no longer in clumps but distributed throughout.

Rolling out a little by hand.

Ready for baking!

Flaky finished product. I should have taken a picture so you could see all the folds inside. Next time I’ll break one open. These were melt in your mouth delicious!

The most important thing I learned about this class is that everything has to be COLD. I’m talking about 32-40 at the absolute most. Between every fold, sheeter run through, or anything else the dough has to back to the fridge or freezer to set some more. This is a long process that takes quick work then waiting, but the difference in the final product is worth it all.

On a side note, this week I have been so inspired by Chef Emmanuel Ryon. He is a French Pastry Chef that blogger David Lebovitz featured. Here is a link to some of his petit fours. I literally just stared at the screen for 15 minutes when I saw them. They are amazing and I have felt so motivated to improve my craft and learn as much as I can. On that note I will leave you to enjoy and of course, Happy Baking!

This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Devil’s Food Cake and Croissants

Leave a Reply

